Katy’s Weblog*

blogging toward an independent study

Still to study

I have made a list of some key texts, which I still have yet to study.  I have just started reading a book by Brian Torne which focuses on some of his criticisms about Rogers’ work.  It is an essential read as the book consists of a collection of all of the main approaches used by Rogers; such as thoughts about ‘The Actualizing Tendency’ and ‘The Core Conditions’, which includes information about congruence.  I am also going to look at Winnicott, who also talks more about the concept of incongruence.  I also intend to study some of Rogers’ biographies which Paul Wilkins advised to read written by Kirschenbaum.  I need to get the most recent of these however on library loan, which could take up to a month!  These are just a few of the studys I hope to look at, as well as other’s such as more work be Lietaer, McLeod (2003) and West who focuses on the concept of ‘presence’.

1 Comment»

  Judy wrote @

Hi katy,
I have just ‘happened’ across your weblog.
I am looking for information about the ‘core conditions’ ….just trying to read round the subject!
I am 63 and have started a correspondence course on counseling skills!
Gosh, I have forgotten how hard studying and in particular… remembering…is!
Has to be something to do with age I guess.
Anyway, I just wanted to say that I found your blog interesting ….. the way you are thinking through stuff.
I am trying to read find info on the internet and have various books which I refer to, too.
It’s all very new to me and I am finding it really interesting.
Keep on going…it is well worth the effort.


Leave a comment